Good Art is Hard to Find

Icon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

William F. Gibbs press kits

William F. Gibbs told me that most artists simply send out a CD in a plain envelope when trying to get noticed and that he wanted to do something different to stand out. We decided to make a press kit that was more substantial and agreed to build them out of recycled cigar boxes.

The CD packaging was already existing and I knew that I needed to create something that would mesh well with the design. I began looking for inspiration by listening to Will’s album My Fellow Sophisticates and soon discovered how eclectic Will’s music is. I decided that the best route would be to build my design around those qualities, including hand lettering and illustration. I custom outfitted 10 boxes; I painted, sanded and trimmed the elements to the various sizes. The tops are screen printed with gold ink and the brown paper wrapping is embelished with a xerox transfer.

Filed under: illustrations, My work, , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

